Skip to content

Reflection, Week 2

by on July 8, 2011

Well, this week I’m thinking about the impact of social media on my life and on my work. I communicate with family and friends on Facebook on a daily basis. Both my children live out of state, and it is a great way of staying in touch. I’ll get off the phone with my daughter, and one of us will have a random thought, so we’ll open a chat on Facebook. I’ve developed a closer relationship with my sister-in-law. We used to talk on the phone every few months; now we chat on Facebook almost daily. I’ve re-established relationships with high schools friends and long-lost neighbors. I even have a non-friend – we went to high schools with the same name, so she sent a friend request – that I’ve become attached to, and don’t want to unfriend. My nephew teaches English in Japan, and within minutes of the earthquake, through Twitter and Facebook, knew he was safe. I was talking to friends at church this week about the subject. One mentioned a family member, who live in a remote town, and through feeling alone and isolated, developed a drinking problem. She was able to overcome it by making connections through social media. Another friend, who is not on Facebook, mentioned that she feels left out, and as if she was missing something.

I found an interesting video on a blog on the subject: http://janeknight.typepad.com/pick/2011/06/learning-in-the-social-workplace-2.html. (If Facebook were a country, it would be the world’s third largest). Be sure and check it out! I love the music.

So what are the best ways to use social media in our teaching and training? I find social media to be easy and free-flowing. Does it change the interaction if it is graded? Are we isolating any learners through its use, or does it open up enough new vistas to our learners?

Alice

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

