Skip to content

Philip Arnold – Week 3 Reflection

by on July 10, 2011

I’ve been thinking this week about my choice to leave the private sector after 26 years to enter this foreign land called academia. My perception of what education is and what it could be has evolved (and continues to evolve) in just a few short months, and this is due in large part to to my involvement in the academic communities of which I am a member (school, work, conferences).

It is exciting that I have started down this new career path at a time when models of education are changing. Online learning seems to slowly be shedding the “inferior” stigma of just a few years ago, and technology innovations are finally bringing an educational opportunities to students in rural areas and around the world. The prospect of helping to create a “global knowledge economy” (Katz, 2008) is interesting to me, and I hope to explore this topic in greater detail through my research and writing in the coming weeks.

Philip

Reference
Katz, R. N. (2008). The tower and the cloud: higher education in the age of cloud computing. Educause.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

