Skip to content

Connections

by on August 6, 2011

quilt

I spent the day working on restoring my grandmother’s quilt. It is in the Grandmother’s Flower Garden pattern, made up of linked hexagons. This is the grandma I was named for, and she died when I was five, so I didn’t know her well. I’m restoring the quilt that a brother overused because I want to hold on to the pieces I have of her.

The pattern reminds me of the links we have with each other. In the last week on a social media site, a friend posted memories of her recently deceased father, another friend asked for help in bringing in meals for a friend with a recent surgery, and one of my son’s friends shared feelings about his recent divorce. All in an online world. Online classmates are helping user test a website for a group in another class, and one of the group members has classmates for other classes helping. Pieces and patches and circles that make up a social network.

 – Alice Boyd (connected)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

